Massachusetts Debt Relief
Massachusetts Credit Card Debt law includes a 6-year Statute of Limitations (SOL) for open-ended accounts. This means that creditors must file suit on unpaid Credit Cards before that time expires. Unlike many other states, Massachusetts has a static SOL. It does not start anew upon partial payments made by the debtor. The time to answer a summons in the state is 20 days. Answers should be sent by certified mail to ensure timely delivery. Late answers will result in a default judgment for the Plaintiff.
Creditors have 20 years to collect on a judgment in Massachusetts, but only if execution is filed within a year of judgment. Successive executions may be issued at five-year intervals. Outstanding but expired executions may be revived by court order. The judgment accrues interest at 12% per year.
All of a debtor’s property is subject to seizure and sale to satisfy the judgment. A special process is in force for wage garnishments, utilizing a trustee to handle the funds. Wages are exempted up to $125 per week. Homestead exemptions are allowed up to $100,000, or up to $200,000 for elderly residents who qualify. Essential personal property items may also be exempt. Special rules for homestead declarations exist for Massachusetts residents. To ensure protection, these rules should be reviewed and acted upon each time changes are made to the title.
Rather than face wage garnishment or property seizures, most consumers would choose to engage in Debt Settlement with the creditor. This way, debtors have a say in how payments are structured and gain the benefit of interest-free payments.