Kansas Debt Relief
Kansas Credit Card Debt law provides one of the shortest Statute of Limitations (SOL) periods in the nation, beginning from the date the debtor first misses a payment and ending only 3 years later. In addition, Kansas is one of a few states that do not renew the SOL if the debtor makes a partial payment. The state allows a Defendant 20 days to file an answer, unless the summons notes otherwise. Failing to answer within the time allotted will results in an automatic judgment in favor of the Plaintiff, so certified mail is the best method for sending an answer.
Kansas judgments carry a 5-year SOL, after which time the judgment, and any liens enforced by it, become dormant. The law then provides another two years in which the judgment may be revived. After that, all affected parties must agree before revival will be allowed. Liens on real property and non-exempt assets are allowed. Interest accrues at 4% above the federal discount rate.
Wages can be garnished up to 25% of the debtor’s disposable income. This right may not be assigned to third party collection agencies except under certain specific circumstances. Most types of residential property and land can be declared under homestead, making them exempt from seizure. Some types of public or retirement benefits, along with personal property necessary to sustain a family’s basic needs are also exempt.
Debt Settlement is an option to be considered for those facing a court judgment on debt. Instead of being forced to pay the debt on a court-ordered schedule, debtors can work out interest free payment options that may be more flexible.